Search Powered by Google




Teachers named Educators of Distinction


March 25, 2010 — Seventeen CFISD teachers were recently selected as Claes Nobel Educators of Distinction by the National Society of High School Scholars (NSHSS) for outstanding dedication and commitment to excellence in the classroom.

Student members of NSHSS have the opportunity to nominate the educator who made the most significant contribution to their academic career. The Claes Nobel Educator of Distinction award recognizes teacher role models who have made a lasting difference in their classroom by encouraging students to strive for excellence.

CFISD’s winners, listed with their nominating student in parentheses, are as follows:


  • Rachel Mabry (Vatsal Mistry) and Christie McWilliams (Kayley Nielson);
Cypress Creek
  • Cathy Baratti (Jacob Thayer), Joseph Daher (Jackie Salinas) and Jan Mouton (Giannina Croxatto);
Cypress Falls
  • Frances Arnold (Julie Nguyen) and Wanda Wright (Xavier Bond);
Cypress Ranch
  • Dawn Dixon, Cypress Ranch (Hillary Brindell);
Cypress Ridge
  • Jennifer Ward (Lorena Moreno) and Angela Oltean, Cypress Ridge (Scott Gonzales);
Cypress Springs
  • Courtney Laird (Jorja Lester);
Cypress Woods
  • Ellen Thompson (Onesimus Moore), Daniel Fredrickson (Micky Akinrodoye), Rebecca Rivard (Amanda Cedeño) and Diana Garcia (Shanae Smith);
Jersey Village
  • Cora Dickson (Thiennya Vo); and
Langham Creek
  • Jeff Notton (James Zimmerman).

“Dedicated educators who exhibit a commitment to excellence deserve our highest praise and appreciation,” said NSHSS president James Lewis in a press release. “We’re excited to provide an ongoing means to do so, and we encourage our members to nominate teachers who have contributed to their academic success.”

Formed in 2002, the NSHSS recognizes academic excellence at the high school level and encourages members of the organization to apply their unique talents, vision and potential for the betterment of themselves and the world. There are currently more than 530,000 society members in 160 countries. For more information about NSHSS, visit

facebook twitter


10300 Jones Road Houston, Texas 77065
P.O. Box 692003 Houston, Texas 77269-2003
(281) 897-4000

CFISD is not responsible for content on remote sites.
Copyright 2008. Cypress-Fairbanks ISD. All Rights Reserved.