• Tcpa

    The Cypress-Fairbanks ISD Police Department earned “Recognized” status through the Texas Police Chief’s Association on February 16th, 2017. The Cypress-Fairbanks ISD Police Department is the 138th Recognized Agency in the State of Texas to earn accreditation through the TPCA Best Practices Program.
    Texas Police Chiefs Association Website


    What is the TPCA Law Enforcement Agency Best Practices Recognition Program?
    The Law Enforcement Recognition Program is a voluntary process where police agencies in Texas prove their compliance with 168 Texas Law Enforcement Best Practices. These Best Practices were carefully developed by Texas Law Enforcement professionals to assist agencies in the efficient and effective delivery of service, the reduction of risk and the protection of individual’s rights. The Texas Legislature demands a great deal of professional law enforcement in Texas and the Best Practices were specifically designed to aid Texas agencies in meeting those demands and providing the best quality of service to the citizens of our State.

    Since its inception in 2006, over 50 Texas Law Enforcement Agencies have been Recognized and many more are currently in the process to become Recognized agencies. While members of the Texas Police Chiefs Association recognize and supports the national accreditation program, The Texas Best Practices Recognition Program has clearly become the new Gold Standard for Texas Law Enforcement!

    What does it mean to be “Recognized?”
    Being “Recognized” means that the agency has proven that it meets or exceeds all of the identified Best Practices for Texas Law Enforcement. These Best Practices cover aspects of law enforcement operations such as use of force, protection of citizen rights, pursuits, property and evidence management, and patrol and investigative operations. Noted police researcher G. Patrick Gallagher identified 12 critical issues (other than vehicle accidents and employee injuries) which get police departments in trouble. These critical areas are:

    •        Use of Force
    •        Emergency Vehicle Operation and Pursuits
    •        Search, Seizure, and Arrest
    •        Care, Custody and Restraint of Prisoners
    •        Domestic Violence and agency employee domestic misconduct
    •        Off-Duty Conduct
    •        Selection and Hiring
    •        Sexual Harassment
    •        Complaint and Internal Affairs Management
    •        Narcotics, SWAT, and High Risk Warrant Service
    •        Dealing with the Mentally Ill and Developmentally Disabled
    •        Property and Evidence Management

    Recognition Program Standards address these areas in an attempt to minimize risk and increase officer safety and training. While being “Recognized” does not guarantee an agency will not make a mistake, it does ensure that the agency has studied these critical issues, has developed policy and procedures to address them and has systems in place to identify and correct problems.

    How were these Best Practices developed?
    A Committee of Chiefs of Police and Command level officers from across Texas assisted in the development of standards that were believed to be necessary for proper functioning of Texas law enforcement agencies. They reviewed Texas law and other State Accreditation Program standards to determine which were most appropriate.

    An appointed Committee of professional Police Chiefs from across the state then reviewed these standards and approved them for testing. The standards were then tested by several Texas agencies and adjusted to be both appropriate and achievable. That same Committee of nine Police Chiefs now conducts the final review of an agency’s efforts and awards “Recognized” status in addition to conducting an annual review of the Best Practices for additions and modifications.

    Questions regarding the CFISD Best Practices Program can be directed to the Program Coordinator:
    Captain Matthew Williams
    TPCA Best Practices Program Coordinator