Guidelines for Conducting Research in CFISD

Cypress-Fairbanks Independent School District (CFISD) recognizes the need for continued research in education and other related areas. District Improvement and Accountability screens applications from graduate students, university researchers, and other research organizations requesting access to CFISD as a research site. 

CFISD encourages quality research efforts, especially in areas that will enhance its educational outcomes and practices. The application process was developed in order to:

  • coordinate new research projects with ongoing district research and evaluation,
  • protect district staff and students from unnecessary data collection,
  • consider project requests in light of federal and state privacy laws, and
  • ensure that projects are of significance to the district


Who needs approval?

  1. Any study that involves data collection through observation, interviews, surveys, tests, etc., from students and personnel in CFISD is defined as "Research" and is subject to the approval process. This also includes research conducted on any CFISD facility or campus.

  2. An individual (including a CFISD employee) or group must submit an Application to Conduct Research in CFISD for a/an: 
  • Individual research
  • Class projects
  • Master theses
  • Doctoral dissertations
  • Other research studies
  1. CFISD employees who are collecting data, testing students, etc., as part of a research project are required to secure permission prior to conducting research.


How is approval obtained?

Email [email protected] to obtain a copy of the Application to Conduct Research in Cypress-Fairbanks ISD.


What are the deadlines for submitting an application and subsequent notification?

Submission Deadline (before midnight)

Earliest Possible Decision Notification

Research Applications Not Accepted or Reviewed in July

Research Applications Not Accepted or Reviewed in August

Sunday, September 1, 2019

Sunday, September 15, 2019

Tuesday, October 1, 2019

Tuesday, October 15, 2019

Friday, November 1, 2019

Friday, November 15, 2019

Sunday, December 1, 2019

Sunday, December 15, 2019

Tuesday, January 1, 2020

Wednesday, January 15, 2020

Saturday, February 1, 2020

Saturday, February 15, 2020

Sunday, March 1, 2020

Sunday, March 15, 2020

Wednesday, April 1, 2020

Wednesday, April 15, 2020

Friday, May 1, 2020

Friday, May 15, 2020

Research Applications Not Accepted or Reviewed in June


What if I have questions before, during, or after submitting my application?

Email any questions to [email protected] and we will provide guidance regarding the research application process.

Javascript Required

Sorry, this site does not work properly without JavaScript enabled. Please enable JavaScript or contact your local administrator.