Board Highlights - 09-10-2012


The Board of Trustees recognized the following students, staff and community members for their achievements:

  • Aragon Middle School teacher Andrea Barnes, for being named the Secondary Educator of the Year by the Association of Texas Professional Educators (ATPE). Barnes, who teaches READ 180, a program that accelerates students’ reading comprehension, was one of three finalists for the award. She was presented with the honor during the 2012 ATPE Summit Awards Banquet on July 16 in Austin;
  • Students who participated in the “Power of One: Let us Hear your Voice” contest in May and were selected to present their testimonies at the Leadership Conference on Aug. 6. The following students were presented with a signed “Power of One” poster from members of the Board and district support team: Aminatu Allie, Allison Diaz, Chloe Geil, Gabriella Gladney, Katherine Gonzales, Haiden Maples, Briana Nguyen, Andrew Pruitt, Austin Pruitt, Avery Pruitt, Nachiket Vamshidhar, Tyler Vest, Suraj Vodnala and Kaitlyn Knippers;
  • Cypress Falls High School student Roshni Chandwani, who won second place in an oratorical contest at the Key Club International Convention in Orlando, Fla. Roshni proposed that every member change the world by being a “SUPERhero” ― Speaking, Uniting, Preparing, Executing, and Revising. Roshni feels these five steps will have a substantial impact on communities. Chandwani also included information about the significance of The Eliminate Project, an organization determined to eradicate maternal/neonatal tetanus (MNT) from the world by 2015; and
  • Students from Cy-Fair High School who placed first and students from A. Robison Elementary School who placed second in the state Destination ImagiNation tournament, and students from Swenke Elementary School who placed first in the state Destination ImagiNation tournament and third in the Global Destination ImagiNation tournament. The Cy-Fair team “CREW,” comprised of team members Samantha Burdyl, Kaitlyn Cathro, Anoosha Moturu, Margaruite Nixon, Ajinkya Patwardhan, Paige Ruby and Sammi Yarto, won first place in Challenge A at state. The A. Robison team “Brainiac Builders,” comprised of team members Ethan Duong, Alex Hamilton, Mira Keller, Trevor Krupke and Michael Norman, won second place in Challenge E at state. Swenke team “Kram Jam,” comprised of team members Conner Byrd, Max Fondren, Karson Funderburk, Khyati Jarawala, Alyvia McEwen and Cesar Padron, won first place in Challenge C at state and third place in Globals out of 57 teams.

The superintendent recognized students and staff members for honors and achievements earned in recent weeks. Congratulations were extended to the following:

  • CFISD police officer Terrence Brooks, who detained a pair of criminals while off duty on Labor Day weekend.


The administration announced a new assistant superintendent and a new principal:

  • Chairita Franklin, a former human resources consultant, was named the assistant superintendent for human resources; and
  • Kim Sempe, the associate principal at Cypress Woods High School, was named the principal at Hamilton Middle School.


The Board adopted an order authorizing the issuance of one or more series of unlimited tax and refunding bonds; setting certain parameters for the bonds; authorizing the superintendent and associate superintendent for business and financial services to approve the amount, the interest rate, price, including terms thereof and certain other procedures and provisions related thereto.

The district will achieve a projected net savings in debt service of $5.1 million as a result of refinancing certain maturities in Series 2002A and Series 2003 Bonds.

The Board approved the granting of a 0.0147-acre (640 sq.-ft.) tract for a Water Meter Easement and a 0.2093-acre (9,115-sq.-ft.) Access Easement to Emerald Forest Municipal Utility District located off Falcon Road for water services.


As of Sept. 7, the district’s post-Labor Day student enrollment was 109,628 students, representing a growth of 1,925 students compared to last year’s Post-Labor Day figure.

CFISD will hold College Awareness Day on Wednesday, Oct. 10 for elementary students, while College and Career Night will be held at the Berry Center on Oct. 10 for high school students.

PSAT testing will be available to all 10th- and 11th-grade students on Oct. 17 for a fee of $18. Each CFISD high school will administer the tests, which students can register for online to take at their home campuses.

The CFISD Trustee Election will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 6 for Trustee Positions 3 and 4. A candidate forum will be held at the Berry Center on Tuesday, Oct. 16 from 7 to 9 p.m.

The Partners in Education office is seeking mentors to serve CFISD students at all grade levels, working one hour per week to assist students as a guide and friend. For more information, call the PIE office at 281-894-3950.


In other action, the Board approved:

  • awarding bids and contracts and/or authorized purchase orders;
  • extending the time period allowed for Brookhollow Baptist to rent facilities at Tipps Elementary School per GKD (Local) by six months;
  • on second reading additions, deletions and revisions to district policies:
    • DIA (LOCAL) EMPLOYEE WELFARE: Freedom from Discrimination, Harassment and Retaliation (Revise)
    • FFH (LOCAL) STUDENT WELFARE: Freedom from Discrimination, Harassment and Retaliation (Revise);
  • the tax refunds of $500 or greater for Cypress-Fairbanks ISD;
  • on first reading additions, deletions or revisions to district policies:
  • the 83rd Legislative Session Priorities developed by the Community Leadership Committee (CLC);
  • the Shared Use Agreement between the First Baptist Church of Houston and Cypress-Fairbanks ISD for Middle School No. 18 Towne Lake site and authorized the superintendent or designee to negotiate the final terms and execute all related documents;
  • changing the date of the Special-called Board meeting to recognize the National Merit Scholars from Monday, Jan. 28, 2013 to Monday, Feb. 4, 2013;
  • changing the time of the Special-called Board meeting to canvass the Board election ballots on Nov. 19, 2012 from 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.;
  • the endorsement of candidacy for Ron Crier, Spring ISD on the TASB Board of Directors for Position 4A; and
  • adoption of revised Board Operating Guidelines outlining the duties of a public officer.

Javascript Required

Sorry, this site does not work properly without JavaScript enabled. Please enable JavaScript or contact your local administrator.