Board Highlights - 12-10-2012


The Board of Trustees recognized the following students, staff and community members for their achievements:

  • Bill Morris and Lida Woodul, for their service as members of the Cypress-Fairbanks ISD Board of Trustees; and
  • Students from Cypress Woods, Jersey Village and Langham Creek high schools, who won Best of Show, first or second place in the Association of Texas Photography Instructors (ATPI) video competition:
    • Cypress Woods High School junior Emily deVillasante won “Best of Show” in the Advanced category;
    • Cara McConnell of Langham Creek High School won first place in Advanced Travel;
    • Trevor Hargis and Keitha Hanks of Jersey Village High School won first place in Advanced Video-PSA/Advertisement (Follow Your Dreams);
    • Hunter Miertschin of Jersey Village High School won first place in Beginning/Middle School Video-PSA/Advertisement (Support The Troops);
    • Matthew Bierwagen and Daniel Mulholland of Jersey Village High School won second place in Advanced Video-Music (Don’t Send Me Roses);
    • Edwin Campos and Clare Wineman of Jersey Village High School won second place in Advanced Video-News (Health Science Newscast);
    • James Owens and Joy Travis of Jersey Village High School won second place in Advanced Video-PSA/Advertisement (Every Second Counts); and
    • Isabella Herrera and Kim Tran of Jersey Village High School won second place in Beginning/Middle School Video-PSA/Advertisement (Cherish Your Friends).

The superintendent recognized students and staff members for honors and achievements earned in recent weeks. Congratulations were extended to the following:

  • Football teams that qualified for the playoffs. Langham Creek High School won the District 17-5A championship, followed by second-place Cypress Falls High School, third-place Cypress Ranch High School and fourth-place Cy-Fair High School. Langham Creek advanced to become a Class 5A Division II area finalist, while Cypress Ranch advanced to the Division II Region III final, where it finished its season after a loss to Katy High School at Rice Stadium.


Darcy Mingoia was sworn into office for Position 3 and will begin her first term. Kevin H. Hoffman, also beginning his first term, was sworn into office for Position 4. The two Board members will serve three-year terms that will expire in 2015. Donna Blowey, notary public and secretary to the superintendent of schools, administered the oath of office to the two trustees.
The Board reorganized by electing a president, vice president and secretary in accordance with Board Policy BDAA (Local). Trustees voted for the following Board officers: Bob Covey was re-elected as Board president; Don Ryan was elected as Board vice president; and Tom Jackson was elected as Board secretary.


The Board approved the Calendar Committee’s recommendation for the 2013-2014 instructional calendar.

House Bill 1 mandates that instruction for the school year may not begin before the fourth Monday in August. For the 2013-2014 instructional year, the earliest start date is Aug. 26—which will serve as the first day of school.

In the fall of 2012, a 35-member district calendar committee was organized with broad-based representation, including teachers, parents, campus administrators and district support staff. The committee held meetings to discuss various components of developing the instructional calendar before arriving at a consensus for the following calendar recommendation to be presented to the Board of Trustees:

  • students begin school on Monday, Aug. 26, 2013;
  • Labor Day, Sept. 2, is a student/staff holiday;
  • the calendar has a five-day Thanksgiving holiday (Nov. 25-29);
  • an 11-day winter break is scheduled for students (Dec. 23-Jan. 6);
  • a one-week spring break is scheduled for March 17-21, 2014;
  • Friday, April 18, is a student/staff holiday;
  • the school year will end on June 5, 2014; and
  • Feb. 17 and June 6, 2014 are designated as inclement weather makeup days.


The Windfern High School fall graduation will be held on Friday, Dec. 21 at 7 p.m. at the Berry Center. The Windfern graduating class of December 2012 is expected to include 125 students. Dr. Henry commended these students, their parents and the Windfern staff for this great accomplishment.

District schools and the Instructional Support Center will be closed to the public for the holidays Dec. 24 through Jan. 4. All support facilities will be closed Dec. 24, 25, 31 and Jan. 1.  Classes will resume on Wednesday, Jan. 9, 2013.

Monday, Jan. 21 will be a student and staff holiday honoring Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. If there is an emergency to report during the holidays, please contact the security department at 281-897-4337. Dr. Henry extended his warmest holiday wishes to students, employees and their families and wished a safe, restful and joyous holiday season for all.

In light of the upcoming New Year’s holiday, Dr. Henry reminded residents that Texas law prohibits the discharge of fireworks on school district property. The CFISD security department will patrol the district’s premises during the holiday season. Citizens who observe fireworks violations are requested to contact the district’s security dispatcher at 281-897-4337.


In other action, the Board approved:

  • awarding bids and contracts and/or authorizing purchase orders to the recommended vendors;
  • the list of students for Off-Campus Physical Education, Category I, for the school years 2013-2014 (fall) through 2015-2016;
  • on second reading additions or revisions to district policies:
  • tax refunds of $500 or greater for Cypress-Fairbanks ISD;
  • Campus Performance Objectives for the 2012-2013 Campus Improvement Plans;
  • the District Improvement Plan for the 2012-2013 school year;
  • the consultant contract with Region IV ESC to provide mathematics support at Title I campuses;
  • the recommendation that the section of Stonegate located west of Queenston Road remain at Birkes Elementary; and
  • recommendations for the Pope Elementary attendance boundaries.


The administration provided a report on the Federal Budget Control Act of 2011 and the financial impact to Cypress-Fairbanks ISD.

The Board approved use of existing facsimile signatures on all checks until the new plates for the 2012-2013 Board of Trustees Officers are received.

Javascript Required

Sorry, this site does not work properly without JavaScript enabled. Please enable JavaScript or contact your local administrator.