Board wins Region 4 nomination for TASA Outstanding School Board

July 17, 2015


The Cypress-Fairbanks ISD Board of Trustees was chosen as the Region 4 representative for the TASA annual School Board Awards Program. CFISD Board members are (front row, L-R) Christine Hartley, secretary; Don Ryan, president; and Tom Jackson, vice president; and (top row, L-R) Bob Covey, trustee; Kevin H. Hoffman, trustee, Dr. Mark Henry, superintendent; Dr. John Ogletree Jr., trustee; and Darcy Mingoia, trustee.

July 17, 2015—The Cypress-Fairbanks Independent School District Board of Trustees has been recognized as the Region 4 representative for the Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA) annual School Board Awards Program, which recognizes outstanding Texas school boards for their commitment to their students and their communities.

The CFISD Board was selected by a committee of superintendents from other districts in the Region 4 Educational Service Center as the regional “Honor Board” nominee on July 14.

“This designation is a clear acknowledgement of the collaborative and supportive leadership provided by the Cypress-Fairbanks ISD Board, working with Dr. Mark Henry and the CFISD team in creating an environment where students and staff can ‘Learn, Empower, Achieve and Dream,’” said Dr. Pam Wells Region 4 ESC executive director. “We congratulate the Cypress-Fairbanks ISD Board of Trustees for this well-deserved award and wish them well as they join the prestigious group of school boards who were nominated for state Outstanding School Board.”

The criteria for consideration for Outstanding School Board is lengthy, with topics ranging from educational vision and fiscal management to community involvement and personal commitment to duty. The CFISD Board is one of 20 honorees in Texas. TASA will name the state’s Outstanding Board in September.

“The Region 4 Honor Board designation is validation of our Board’s unified commitment to the more than 113,000 students, 14,000 staff and half-million community members who rely on their decisions, policies and support,” said Dr. Mark Henry, superintendent of schools. “Many factors contribute to the continued success of Cypress-Fairbanks ISD, but our Board of Trustees is the most critical. I thank these seven individuals for their service, and commend them for a well-deserved distinction from Region 4.”

The Region 4 ESC represents a seven-county area composed of 50 public school districts and 50 public charter school districts. School districts in Region 4 serve more than 1.1 million children under the guidance and leadership of volunteer school board trustees.

Javascript Required

Sorry, this site does not work properly without JavaScript enabled. Please enable JavaScript or contact your local administrator.