Bridgeland defensive back named TD Club’s top defensive player

January 27, 2021

Houston Touchdown Club winner - Bryce McMorrisBridgeland High School senior defensive back Bryce McMorris (holding plaque) poses with Bridgeland Head Coach David Raffield (second from right) and Touchdown Club of Houston representatives following the organization’s 41st annual UIL High School award dinner, held Jan. 20 at Bayou City Event Center. McMorris was named the Defensive Player of the Year.

Jan. 27, 2021—Bridgeland High School senior defensive back Bryce McMorris was named the Touchdown Club of Houston’s 2020 Defensive Player of the Year, winning the honor Jan. 20 among 10 finalists in Greater Houston at a ceremony at the Bayou City Event Center.

The Touchdown Club’s 41st annual UIL High School Awards Dinner, presented by Houston Methodist Orthopedics & Sports Medicine and Texan Live, showcased the finalists for the organization’s awards. Four CFISD football standouts, including McMorris, and two head coaches were recognized as finalists.

McMorris, a three-year starter for Bridgeland, helped lead the Bears to an undefeated District 16-6A championship, 12-1 record and appearance in the Division II-6A Region II semifinals. He finished his senior season with 55 tackles (8.5 for loss) to go with seven passes defended and four interceptions (one returned for a touchdown).

“He showed on his highlight tape everything you could ask a defensive football player to do,” Bridgeland Head Coach David Raffield said of McMorris, who graduated in December and is already attending Southern Methodist University after signing with the school in December. “He was no question one of the leaders of the defense and of the team. He’s a very intelligent kid and very intelligent football player. So as the year went on, we watched him and that’s how he made such great plays.”

0127 Touchdown Club winner 2 WEB.jpgBridgeland High School senior defensive back Bryce McMorris, left, is the second consecutive CFISD standout to win the Defensive Player of the Year award from the Touchdown Club of Houston. He follows former Cypress Creek High School linebacker, who earned the honor in 2019.

Other student-athletes recognized included Bridgeland senior wide receiver Dylan Goffney and Cy-Fair High School senior running back L.J. Johnson, who were among 10 finalists for the Offensive Player of the Year award, and Cy-Fair senior defensive back Thatcher Milton, a finalist for Defensive Player of the Year.

Raffield and Cy-Fair Head Coach Jeff Miller were honored among 10 finalists for the Coach of the Year award.

“It speaks volumes about what we’re doing here in CFISD,” said Raffield, who has led Bridgeland since the school’s opening in 2017: “Not only what we do here year in and year out, but also how we handled the entire COVID-19 situation in the fact that the football teams were able to play. It speaks highly of the leadership in the district and because of that, it speaks volumes about what our kids accomplished on the field.”

McMorris is the first Bridgeland football standout to win a UIL high school award from the Touchdown Club, which began honoring Houston’s top student-athletes in 1980. He’s also the second consecutive Defensive Player of the Year from CFISD, following former Cypress Creek High School standout linebacker and 2019 winner Josh White.

Javascript Required

Sorry, this site does not work properly without JavaScript enabled. Please enable JavaScript or contact your local administrator.