CFISD Board selected as one of five Texas Honor School Boards

September 2, 2015


The CFISD Board of Trustees is one of five state finalists for the 2015 TASA Outstanding School Board. Members include (front row, L-R) Christine Hartley, secretary; Don Ryan, president; and Tom Jackson, vice president; and (back row, L-R) Bob Covey, trustee; Kevin H. Hoffman, trustee; Dr. Mark Henry, superintendent; Dr. John Ogletree Jr., trustee; and Darcy Mingoia, trustee. 

Sept. 2, 2015—The Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA) announced Sept. 2 that the Cypress-Fairbanks ISD Board of Trustees is one of five state finalists for the 2015 TASA Outstanding School Board.

Since 1971, the program has recognized outstanding Texas school boards for commitment and service that has made a positive impact on Texas public school students.

The five school boards selected as 2015 Texas Honor School Boards are:

  • Cypress-Fairbanks ISD, Region 4;
  • Gunter ISD, Region 10;
  • La Joya ISD, Region 1;
  • North East ISD, Region 20; and
  • Socorro ISD, Region 19.

The five boards will be interviewed at the TASA/TASB Convention in Austin, and one board will be named Outstanding School Board during the convention’s first general session at 4 p.m. on Oct. 2. The other Honor Boards, as well as the regional winners, will also be recognized at that time.

“Congratulations to the Cypress-Fairbanks ISD Board of Trustees for being selected as one of five 2015 Texas Honor School Boards,” said Dr. Pam Wells, Region 4 executive director. “This designation is a well-deserved acknowledgement of the Board’s dedicated leadership and support of the district’s focus on Every Student, Every Day. We wish them well as they join the other prestigious group of school boards as finalists for the 2015 Outstanding School Board.”

The five Honor Boards were selected by a committee of Texas school superintendents, chaired by Arlington ISD Superintendent Marcelo Cavazos, whose school board was named the Outstanding School Board for 2014. The selection committee’s decisions were based on specific criteria, including support for educational performance, support for educational improvement projects, commitment to a code of ethics and maintenance of harmonious and supportive relationships among board members.

Javascript Required

Sorry, this site does not work properly without JavaScript enabled. Please enable JavaScript or contact your local administrator.