CFISD graduates claim more than 100 CFEF scholarships

August 5, 2015


CFISD Board member Darcy Mingoia, center, reacts as fellow Trustee Tom Jackson displays his University of Texas-lined sport coat for future UT students at the Cy-Fair Educational Foundation 2015 Scholarship Reception on Aug. 4 at the Berry Center.

Aug. 5, 2015—More than 100 Cypress-Fairbanks ISD graduates celebrated earning scholarships valued at $328,000 at the Cy-Fair Educational Foundation (CFEF) 2015 Scholarship Reception on Aug. 5 at the Berry Center.  

The CFEF, which has awarded more than $6 million in scholarships to 1,300 CFISD graduates since its 1970 inception, welcomed families of the 104 winners to the annual event.

The Class of 2015 CFEF scholarships were comprised of 50 Schroeder Scholarships for future Lone Star College--CyFair students and 54 endowed scholarships.

An opening reception including food and beverages from the Berry Center catering department was followed by a welcome from CFEF Board of Trustees chair Adrian Dominguez. Langham Creek High School alumna Erin Kasperek, a former CFEF scholarship recipient who currently works as community outreach manager for the Houston Marathon Committee, provided opening remarks about how the scholarship changed her life.

“I truly believe I was led to a career in service because of the example set in this Cy-Fair ISD community,” Kasperek said. “This scholarship was due to others giving back to me, and I wanted to do the same. Serving others comes naturally when you come from a culture of service, and I know I speak for all past, current and future CFEF scholarship recipients when I say thank you.”


Langham Creek High School alumna Erin Kasperek, community outreach manager for the Houston Marathon Committee, speaks about how a CFEF scholarship put her on the path to a successful future.

Dr. Mark Henry, CFISD superintendent of schools, thanked the foundation for its longtime support of the district while offering words of encouragement for the incoming college students.

“We are blessed by a strong community and dedicated volunteers like the members of the CFEF board,” Dr. Henry said. “There is no financial benefit for these individuals, but they put in hundreds of hours to ensure that as many students as possible have the opportunity to pursue higher education. I am so proud of this group and encourage you to take the most advantage of his opportunity that has been given to you.”

Beryl Ramsey, CEO of reception underwriter Houston Methodist Willowbrook Hospital, offered closing remarks.

The following students earned 2015 CFEF scholarships:

  • Alexia Aguilar
  • Sumreen Ali
  • Andrew Alvarez
  • Wadeah Amhad
  • Emily Andrade
  • Shelia Angeles
  • Ma Arvizu
  • Harland Ashby
  • Laura Basa
  • Usman Basith
  • Abbey Birbeck
  • Aughtney Black
  • Corine Boconvi
  • Brooke Brown
  • Jacob Caesar
  • Kyle Calda
  • Cristina Caruso
  • Danielle Cerdena
  • Tiffany Chov
  • Victoria Comet
  • Samual Cooley
  • Jennifer Damian
  • Thien-Nhi Dao
  • Brandan Darby
  • Carolina Davalos
  • Tyler Denton
  • Quynhnhu Doan
  • Denise Duran
  • Helen Estrada
  • Cynthia Flores
  • Manasa Gattu
  • Jennifer Gomez
  • Katherine Gould
  • Noorfatima Hafeez
  • Ryan Haney
  • Hannah Hartsoch
  • Sally Hasan
  • Yajaira Hernandez
  • Sazla Hoang
  • Geina Iskander
  • Shaikh Islam
  • Quimberly Jasso
  • Adrian Javier
  • Haley Jimenez
  • Arbaz Khan
  • Quinton Lawton
  • Amber Leija
  • Sarah LePere
  • Diana Lopez
  • Eileen Lopez
  • Chrystian Luna
  • Dana Luu
  • Stephanie Marquez
  • Nimrah Masrur
  • Hannah Maxwell
  • Aileen Medina
  • Imna Melendez
  • Lorena Melendez
  • Mason Mercier
  • Katherine Montemayor
  • Whitney Moore
  • Nanette Morillo
  • Britney Nguyen
  • Logan Norris
  • Johnnique Nunez
  • Hannah O’Malley
  • Lizbeth Oyervides
  • Rachel Patel
  • Sean Patel
  • Carina Patrick
  • Lizette Pinto
  • Cuitlahuac Ponce
  • Sara Qadri
  • Jose Quinones
  • Michelle Ramirez
  • Katherine Reed
  • Juno Rettenmier
  • Santiago Rivas
  • Matthew Robbins
  • Ryan Robbins
  • Sydney Rodgers
  • Madison Rubin
  • Grace Seidl
  • Rahul Sharma
  • Naveen Singh
  • Samantha Sobel
  • Luke Thomas
  • Aron Trevizo
  • David Tuel
  • Tea Turko
  • Tirza Vargas
  • Dayana Velasquez
  • Mariana Villalobos
  • Stephanie Villanueva
  • Kim Vo
  • Derek Volkman
  • Marie Vu
  • Thien Vuong
  • Michael Walther
  • Damon Warner
  • Caroline Willingham
  • Brian Yeang
  • Alan Yi
  • Jeff Yi


Dr. Mark Henry, superintendent of schools, congratulates Cypress Creek High School graduate Harland Ashby on his CFEF scholarship.


Dr. Audre Levy, president of Lone Star College—CyFair, addresses future Lone Star students who earned CFEF Schroeder Scholarships.

Javascript Required

Sorry, this site does not work properly without JavaScript enabled. Please enable JavaScript or contact your local administrator.