CFISD students attend AFJROTC summer leadership camp

July 7, 2017

0707 AFJROTC.jpg
Houston area AFJROTC cadets wait for the graduation ceremony to commence at the AFJROTC Summer Leadership School at Prairie View A&M University in June. Six CFISD students were recognized for being the top 10 cadets in their class and 19 students were recognized for being in the top 10 percent of their class.

July 7, 2017—Students from Air Force Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps (AFJROTC) programs in CFISD attended the Summer Leadership School at Prairie View A&M University from June 17-24.

The camp welcomed 250 cadets from the greater Houston area to attend the 19th annual summer leadership school. While at the camp, six cadets received the Honor Graduate distinction, meaning they placed within the top ten cadets in the entire program, and 19 received Distinguished Graduate status by finishing the course in the top 10 percent of the entire class.

“The courses we teach are meant to give the cadets a set of skills they can take back to their schools and community and apply it almost immediately,” said Capt. Scott Thomas, Cy-Fair High School AFJROTC instructor. “The classes are a mix of an academic classroom setting and application-based activities.”

The school prepares young men and women to meet the challenges and demands of leadership in the AFJROTC program. It teaches responsibility, improves self-discipline, builds self-confidence, develops leadership skills and strengthens character while using a strict, disciplined Air Force training format. These mental and physical challenges help prepare cadets for future encounters in their AFJROTC cadet career and civilian life.

The following cadets received the Honor Graduate distinction:

  • Mayra Garnica, Jersey Village;
  • Regan Goodwin, Cypress Woods;
  • Levi Sides, Cypress Woods;
  • Adrian Lecheung, Cy-Fair;
  • Jacob Posada, Cy-Fair; and
  • Michael Welsh, Langham Creek.

The following students received the Distinguished Graduate distinction:

  • Grannon Schmitt, Cypress Falls;
  • Zachary Hofstetter, Cypress Springs;
  • Osiel Contreras, Jersey Village;
  • Mayra Garnica, Jersey Village;
  • Erick Salcedo, Cypress Ridge;
  • Cougan Hignight, Cy- Fair;
  • Adrian Lecheung, Cy-Fair;
  • Fatima Medina, Cy-Fair;
  • Marin Perez, Cy-Fair;
  • Brandi Pindea, Cy-Fair;
  • Brian Vo, Cy-Fair;
  • Chris Flores, Langham Creek;
  • Joseph Welsh, Langham Creek;
  • Michael Welsh, Langham Creek;
  • Reagan Goodwin, Cypress Woods;
  • Jacob Mills, Cypress Woods;
  • Levi Sides, Cypress Woods;
  • Jonathan Silva, Cypress Woods; and
  • Sarah Thornton, Cypress Woods.

Javascript Required

Sorry, this site does not work properly without JavaScript enabled. Please enable JavaScript or contact your local administrator.