TASA names CFISD Board the top school board in Texas

October 2, 2015


The CFISD Board of Trustees was named the 2015 TASA Outstanding School Board at the TASA/TASB Convention in Austin on Oct. 2. Board members are (bottom row, L-R) Christine Hartley, secretary; Don Ryan, president; Tom Jackson, vice president; and (top row, L-R) Darcy Mingoia, trustee; Dr. John Ogletree Jr., trustee; Dr. Mark Henry, superintendent; Kevin H. Hoffman, trustee; and Bob Covey, trustee. 

Oct. 2, 2015—The CFISD Board of Trustees was named the 2015 Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA) Outstanding School Board at the TASA/TASB (Texas Association of School Boards) Convention, Oct. 2 in Austin.

CFISD’s seven trustees underwent an interview process at the convention before being named the statewide winner from among four other finalists: Gunter ISD, La Joya ISD, North East ISD and Socorro ISD.

Since 1971, the program has recognized outstanding Texas school boards for commitment and service that has made a positive impact on Texas public school students.

CFISD was initially selected to represent Region 4 as an award nominee in July, then was notified of its state finalist status in September.

“Winning the TASA Outstanding School Board is an incredible honor that our Board will cherish forever,” said Don Ryan, CFISD Board President. “This achievement would not have been possible without the support and encouragement we have received from our school district, community and Region 4, and is truly a validation of our unified commitment to serve Every Student, Every Day in Cypress-Fairbanks ISD.”

CFISD’s Trustees are:

  • Don Ryan, president;
  • Tom Jackson, vice president;
  • Christine Hartley, secretary;
  • Bob Covey, trustee;
  • Kevin H. Hoffman, trustee;
  • Darcy Mingoia, trustee; and
  • Dr. John Ogletree Jr., trustee.

Javascript Required

Sorry, this site does not work properly without JavaScript enabled. Please enable JavaScript or contact your local administrator.