PreKindergarten Registration and Preregistration
Preregistration for 2017-2018 prekindergarten classes will be held in all elementary schools beginning August 28, 2017. Visit your campus website or contact your school for further information and specific times.
For the 2017 - 2018 school year, children entering prekindergarten must be four years old on or before September 1, 2017. Due to Texas state law on age requirements, no exceptions will be made. The district provides half-day prekindergarten for qualifying students.
Pre-K Registration Requirements:
The following documents are required when registering students for school in CFISD:
- a certified copy of the child’s birth certificate from the Bureau of Vital Statistics1 (see details below).
- a current immunization record2
- a government-issued, photo ID for the child’s parent or legal guardian.
- proof of residency3 (see details below).
- a social security card for each child, if available.
1Birth Certificate: Please visit the City of Houston Bureau of Vital Statistics to obtain a birth certificate if the student was born in Harris County).
3Proof of Residency: At the time of registration, parents will be asked to provide proof of residence dated within the last 30 days. Documents that are provided should reflect the parent/guardian's name and street address. If you are a homeowner, please be prepared to submit a current electric, gas, or water bill for proof of residency. If you are a lessee, please be prepared to submit your current lease agreement, along with a current light, gas, or water bill as proof of residency.
Important Pre-K Requirements Information
Since not every school has a prekindergarten program, parents may call the neighborhood elementary school to help determine the school in which to register their child.
If applying for admission based on educationally (economically) disadvantaged, please also bring:
- Current payroll check stub (during the month prior to verification), OR
- Current pay envelope, OR
- Letter from employer stating gross wages paid and how often they are paid
Acceptable documentation for self-employment income is:
- Last year’s tax return (1040), OR
- Business or farming documents, such as ledger books and/or self-issued paycheck stub
If SELF employed, NET income is used. If not, GROSS income is used.
View which school your child will attend
To be eligible for the Prekindergarten program, your child must be 4 years of age by September 1st and meet an eligibility requirement as determined by Texas law. No exceptions can be made.
- The child is unable to speak and comprehend the English language and are Limited English Proficiency (LEP) students. Students must complete a Home Language Survey and the child must qualify on the Pre -IDEA Proficiency Test (Pre-IPT), which will be administered at registration
- The child is educationally (economically) disadvantaged: Eligible to participate in the National Free or Reduced-Price Lunch Program based on family income.
- The child is educationally (economically) disadvantaged: Eligible by having a food stamp or Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) Eligibility Group Number (EDG#).
- The child is homeless, as defined by 42 U.S.C. Section 11302.
- The child has a parent or official guardian that is an active duty member of the Armed Forces of the United States, including the state military forces or a reserved component of the armed forces, who is ordered to active duty by proper authority. This includes uniformed service members who are Missing in Action (MIA).
- The child has a parent or official guardian that is a member of the Armed Forces of the United States, including the state military forces or a reserved component of the armed forces, who was injured or killed while serving on active duty.
The term “member of the armed forces” includes:
• active duty uniformed members (parents or official guardians) of the Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, or Coast Guard who are assigned to duty stations in Texas or who are Texans who have eligible children residing in Texas;
• activated/mobilized uniformed members of the Texas National Guard (Army or Air Guard), or activated/mobilized members of the Reserve components of the Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, or Coast Guard who are Texas residents regardless of the location of the reserve unit; and
• uniformed service members who are Missing in Action (MIA).
- The child has ever been in the conservatorship (foster care) of the Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS), as well as children in a conservatorship as a result of an adversary hearing. This includes children returned to home, kinship placement, and adoptions.
- The child has a parent eligible the Star of Texas Award as:
- A peace officer under Section 3106.002, Government Code;
- A firefighter under Section 3106.003, Government Code; or
- An emergency medical first responder under Section 3106.004, Government Code.
DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED FOR MILITARY
If applying for admission based on military criteria, appropriate documentation is listed below:
- Present Department of Defense (DoD) photo identification for children of active duty service members for documentation via district form.
- A copy of the “Statement of Service” from the Installation Adjutant General (AG) Director of Human Resources for children of active members or mobilized reservists or members of the Texas National Guard. This office would use the military personnel systems and documentation to verify that the service member is on active duty in Texas or a Texas mobilized reservist. For Texas National Guard members (Army or Air Guard), the Texas National Guard’s office of the Adjutant General (TAG) may provide documentation or an official letter from a commander (at or above the Lieutenant Colonel or, for the Navy at the commander level) confirming active/mobilized status may be accepted.
- A copy of the Death Certificate using the Service appropriate Department of Defense form, or a Department of Defense form that indicates death as the reason for the separation from the service for children of service members who died or were killed. If the Department of Defense form is not available, the family would ask the Casualty Assistance Office of the closest Casualty Area Command (in Texas) to provide a memorandum signed by the Casualty Office stating the service member was killed in action or died while serving.
- A copy of the Purple Heart orders or citation for children of service members or mobilized reservists/guardsmen who were wounded or injured in combat.
- A copy of the Line of Duty Determination documentation for children of service members or mobilized reservists/guardsmen who were injured while serving on active duty but were NOT wounded or injured in combat. If such documentation is not available, a copy of an official letter from a commander (at or above the Lieutenant Colonel or, for the Navy at the commander level) that stated the service member was wounded or injured while on active duty is acceptable.
- A copy of appropriate documentation for children of service members who are “Missing in Action” (MIA). Any one of the following three acceptable pieces of documentation will suffice for all services: (1) a copy of the transmittal letter from the Service Secretary stating the service member is in a missing status; (2) a copy of the DD (Department of Defense) Form 2811, “Report of Proceedings by Initial/Subsequent Board of Inquiry or Further Review Board;” or (3) a copy of the DD Form 2812, “Commander’s Preliminary Assessment and Recommendations Regarding Missing Person.”
Students qualifying for prekindergarten on the basis of being a child of an active duty member of the Armed Forces of the United States, including the state military forces or a reserved component of the Armed Forces, remain eligible for enrollment if the child’s parent leaves the Armed Forces, or is no longer on active duty, after the student begins a prekindergarten class.
DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED FOR FOSTER CARE
If applying for admission based on having ever been in the conservatorship (foster care) of the Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) please provide:
- Court documentation establishing foster care, OR
- Department of Family and Protective Services letter which verifies that a child has ever been in foster care. For additional information, contact your local CPS office.
Half Day Zoning
Students will be assigned to either morning or afternoon classes depending on the residential zone in which they live for that campus. That information will be provided after open registration is completed.
Parents/guardians seeking additional information or clarification to determine qualifications for the prekindergarten program should call their neighborhood elementary school or call the prekindergarten/kindergarten hotline at 281-517-2645.
Prekindergarten Transfers During The School Year
Prekindergarten student transfers from another district in Texas:
- If ESL/Bilingual—attach documentation from sending school district.
- If Educationally Disadvantaged—must requalify based on income during the month prior to enrollment