Return to Headlines

CFISD theatre students earn Texas Theatre Scholars Award

Texas Theatre Scholars logo

March 14, 2023—Ten CFISD theatre students recently earned the Texas Theatre Scholars Award for the 2022-2023 school year.  

The new initiative from the Texas Thespians Advocacy Network recognizes and honors high school theatre students who demonstrate achievement in theatrical performance, exhibit high academic success and outstanding citizenship.

To be designated as a Texas Theatre Scholar, a student must be currently enrolled in school, is a member in good standing with their campus theatre department, has actively participated in theatrical programs during the designated school year, has earned a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale, has fulfilled any additional local criteria required by their theatre program and exhibits behavior and good moral character, which brings honor to the campus theatre department, school and community.

The following CFISD students earned the Texas Theatre Scholars Award:


High School

Valeria Blanco

Cypress Creek

Gillian Giles

Cypress Creek

Arib Khan

Cypress Creek

Cecilia Killalea

Cypress Creek

Jake McDonald

Cypress Creek

Isabella Morey

Cypress Creek

Katherine Nguyen

Cypress Creek

Aline Zacarias

Cypress Park

MeAsia Brooks

Cypress Park

Joao Garcia

Cypress Ridge

Texas Thespians, an affiliate chapter of the Educational Theatre Association (EdTA), is the largest chapter in the nation. With more than 500 troupes, Texas Thespians represents more than 16,000 middle school and high school students. Texas Thespians offers educational festivals, workshops and competitions for students, as well as conferences and professional development for teachers and administrators. As an affiliate of the International Thespian Society, Texas Thespians follows the national model for promoting excellence in theatre education and student achievement.