Return to Headlines

Three trustees sworn in; Board elects new officers

from left, new cfisd trustees dr. natalie blasingame, lucas scanlon and scott henry take the oath of office on dec. 9, 2021.
Newly elected CFISD trustees are sworn into office during the Dec. 9 committee-of-the-whole meeting. Pictured, from left, are Dr. Natalie Blasingame, Position 5; Lucas H. Scanlon, Position 7; and Scott Henry, Position 6.

Dec. 9, 2021—Three members of the Cypress-Fairbanks ISD Board of Trustees who were elected during the Nov. 2 general election were sworn into office during a committee-of-the-whole meeting on Thursday, Dec. 9:

  • Natalie Blasingame, a newly elected trustee, was sworn into her first term for Position 5;
  • Scott Henry, a newly elected trustee, was sworn into his first term for Position 6; and
  • Lucas H. Scanlon, a newly elected trustee, was sworn into his first term for Position 7.

The three Board members will serve four-year terms that will expire in 2025.

District 7 State Sen. Paul Bettencourt administered the oath of office to the three trustees. Following the oath, the Board reorganized by electing a president, vice president and secretary in accordance with Board Policy BDAA (Local).

Trustees voted for the following Board officers: Tom Jackson was elected as Board president; Julie Hinaman was elected as Board vice president; and Gilbert Sarabia was elected as Board secretary.