Return to Headlines

13 CFISD students named 2022 National Merit semifinalists

National Merit Scholarship Program logo

Sept. 20, 2021—A total of 13 CFISD seniors representing seven high schools were confirmed as semifinalists in the 67th annual National Merit Scholarship Program, officials announced on Sept. 15, allowing academically talented students to continue in the competition for approximately 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth nearly $30 million.

The following students have been named National Merit semifinalists:



Alejandro Cantu


Lillian Chang


Catherine Sabotta


Carson Stark


Yahya Sohail

Cypress Creek

Jenny Lu

Cypress Falls

Miguel Alarcon

Cypress Ranch

Tanvi Khandekar

Cypress Woods

Phuc Le

Cypress Woods

Benjamin Yonas

Cypress Woods

Isaac Sal

Jersey Village

Parnika Mandewalkar

Langham Creek

Ashvin Ramabadran

Langham Creek

The 13 semifinalists are among 16,000 students throughout the U.S. that placed among the top 1 percent of approximately 1.5 million students who entered the Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit School Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) during their junior year.

To become a finalist, semifinalists must submit a detailed scholarship application, including information about academic records, participating in school and community activities, leadership skills, employment, and honors and awards. In addition to the scholarship application, semifinalists must be endorsed by a high school official and write an essay.

Qualifying students will be notified of their final designation in February, with National Merit Scholarship winners announced beginning in April and concluding in July.