Return to Headlines

Three Board of Trustees candidates elected to four-year terms

from left to right, Natalie Blasingame, Scott Henry & Lucas Scanlon
From left to right, Natalie Blasingame (Position 5), Scott Henry (Position 6) and Lucas Scanlon (Position 7) were elected to the CFISD Board of Trustees on Nov. 2.

Nov. 3, 2021—With all 704 voting centers reporting from the Nov. 2 election for three seats on the Cypress-Fairbanks Independent School District Board of Trustees, unofficial results indicate that Natalie Blasingame was elected to Position 5, Scott Henry was elected to Position 6 and Lucas Scanlon was elected to Position 7.

For the Position 5 seat, Blasingame received 12,682 votes (35.67%) over opponents John Ogletree, who drew 11,233 votes (31.59%), Courtney Spradley, who drew 7,811 votes (21.97%), Grace Horner, who drew 1,815 votes (5.1%), Xavier Leal, who drew 1,354 votes (3.83%), and Todd LeCompte, who drew 659 votes (1.85%). Blasingame will begin her first term of service to the district.

For the Position 6 seat, Henry received 17,032 votes (49.05%) over opponents Don Ryan, who drew 8,234 votes (23.71%), Ryan C. Irving, Jr., who drew 5,848 votes (16.84%) and Chris Harrison, who drew 3,610 votes (10.40%). Henry will begin his first term of service to the district.

For the Position 7 seat, Scanlon received 16,247 votes (47.06%) over opponents Bob R. Covey, who drew 10,680 votes (30.93%), Michael V. Perez, who drew 4,686 votes (13.57%) and Craig A. Jacobs, who drew 2,912 votes (8.43%). Scanlon will begin his first term of service to the district.

Overall, the election drew 35,554 votes for Position 5, 34,724 votes for Position 6 and 34,525 votes for Position 7. Early voting accounted for 37.4%, 37.5% and 37.5% of the ballots cast in each of the three respective races. Of the 349,521 registered voters within CFISD, 11% cast ballots in the election.

Official results from Tuesday’s election will be canvassed and announced during the Friday, Nov. 12 special-called Board of Trustees meeting. The elected candidates to Positions 5, 6 and 7 will be sworn in during the Dec. 9 work session to serve four-year terms.