Return to Headlines

Four Board of Trustees candidates elected to four-year terms

Nov. 8, 2023—With 700 of 701 voting centers reporting from the Nov. 7 election for four seats on the Cypress-Fairbanks Independent School District Board of Trustees, unofficial results indicate that Todd LeCompte was elected to Position 1, Julie Hinaman was re-elected to Position 2, Justin Ray was elected to Position 3 and Christine Kalmbach was elected to Position 4.

For the Position 1 seat, LeCompte received 24,149 votes (43.69%) over opponents Tonia Jaeggi, who drew 21,062 votes (38.11%), and Cleveland Lane Jr., who drew 10,062 votes (18.20%). Lecompte will begin his first term of service to the district.

Todd LeCompte, Position 1
Todd LeCompte

For the Position 2 seat, Hinaman received 25,078 votes (45.57%) over opponents George Edwards Jr., who drew 23,645 votes (42.96%) and Ayse Indemaio, who drew 6,311 votes (11.47%). Hinaman will begin her second term of service to the district.

Julie Hinaman, Position 2
Julie Hinaman

For the Position 3 seat, Ray received 23,713 votes (43.5%) over opponents Leslie Martone, who drew 21,339 votes (39.15%) and Michelle Fennick, who drew 9,458 votes (17.35%). Ray will begin his first term of service to the district.

Justin Ray, Position 3
Justin Ray

For the Position 4 seat, Kalmbach received 28,006 votes (51.07%) over opponent Frances Ramirez Romero, who drew 26,829 votes (48.93%). Kalmbach will begin her first term of service to the district.

Christine Kalmbach, Position 4
Christine Kalmbach

Overall, the election drew 55,273 votes for Position 1, 55,034 votes for Position 2, 54,510 votes for Position 3 and 54,835 votes for Position 4. Early voting accounted for 55.4%, 55.5%, 55.6% and 55.5% of the ballots cast in each of the four respective races. Of the 369,358 registered voters within CFISD, 16.8% cast ballots in the election.

Official results from Tuesday’s election will be canvassed and announced during a special-called Board of Trustees meeting later in November. The elected candidates to Positions 1, 2, 3 and 4 will be sworn in during the Dec. 7 work session to serve four-year terms.